Hiya folks, hope everyone's doing well. I have to admit to some slight confusion over a couple of the criteria for the project proposal, and I figured I'd bring it up here to see how you all are interpreting it. Forgive me if this question was ever brought up in class, but I'm not finding answers in my notes.

The criteria include a "literature review." They also include "specific links to class readings, discussions, and theme." In proposals I've done in the past, the term "literature review" was not used, so I am unsure as to what exactly that entails. I was assuming that this "review" is the establishment of the theoretical framework for the project using whatever of the class texts are appropriate. So is the second criterion something that is incorporated into the larger review section? Or am I missing something?

Sorry if this seems nitpicky or something...just want to make sure I'm crossing all of my Ts, as it were. -- Tiffany
Picture
While I'm here, I wanted to say that my project that I hoped to make a reality is seeming less and less like it's going to happen. This is because a much larger filming project has the convention's creators' full attention. They've got a Kickstarter and everything. While I still plan to attend the event and do my own filming, I'm wondering how (or if) I can incorporate this new aspect into my project. Very much still processing.

(The pic here is linked to the Kickstarter, if anyone wants to check it out for realz.)



Somava
4/2/2013 04:34:11 am

Hi Tiffany,

I think the literature review section is the place you would show how you are using concepts from the texts we read and of course other concepts relevant to your project. At least that's what I am doing.

Somava

Reply
Tiffany
4/2/2013 08:05:31 am

Thanks, Somava!

Reply
Jen
4/2/2013 07:35:32 am

Hi Tiffany,

To add on to what Somava said, a literature review provides scholarly context for your project/argument. What have other scholars said about this issue? What are the debates/controversies related to the issue? How does your project build upon or challenge previous scholarship? (And for this particular project:) how does your project enter into a conversation with the sources we read in class?

In the example that Kim posted on the assignment page, she seems to do the bulk of her literature review on the section titled "Importance and timeliness of this research," but also offers contextualization in other sections such as "Project description" and "Scholarly impact."

At least that is what I think "literature review" means for this project. I hope that helps : )

Jen

Reply
Tiffany
4/2/2013 07:51:55 am

Thanks, Jen. I think I was trying too hard to make exact correlations between our project requirements and the posted example (which I know is kinda silly), and "literature review" just hit me as super broad. Scholarly context/significance/impact is more in line with terminology I've used in the past. :)

Reply
Kim Christen
4/2/2013 09:20:14 am

yes, what Jen said exactly!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.